Take Action on Muslim Brotherhood Bill

Article Source: rachel@shymanstrategies.com

Article Source: rachel@shymanstrategies.com

There are still members of Congress that need to be pushed to designate the Brotherhood as terrorists.


Muslim Brotherhood supporters in Jordan
Muslim Brotherhood supporters in Jordan (Photo: Reuters)

Two more congressmen have cosponsored the Muslim Brotherhood Terrorist Designation Act, bringing the number to 61 representatives and five senators.

The increasing tally is encouraging, but it is still far less than what the previous bill received. And that reality is terribly disappointing because, unlike the previous bill, this bill could actually pass since the GOP controls both chambers of Congress and the White House. An opportunity like this may not come again, especially if the Democrats win control of the House in 2018.

Voters must remind their members of Congress who supported the previous bill to cosponsor the new bills (HR377 and S68).

The two new cosponsors are Rep. Trent Franks (R-AZ) and Rep. Kevin Brady (R-TX). The former is significant because he is on the Judiciary committee that must approve the bill.

The House bill is currently stuck with the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security and Investigations. The only cosponsor on the subcommittee is Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX), vice chair of the committee and an original cosponsor of the bill.

The Senate version is stuck with the Foreign Relations Committee, where only one committee member has cosponsored the bill, Senator Ron Johnson (R-WI).

Read here about how officials in Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Yemen and Mauritania all recently condemned the Brotherhood.

Attention should now be focused on the six Republican members of the Judiciary subcommittee who voted in favor of the previous bill and are likely to cosponsor the current one if they are pushed to do so.

These six of immediate concern are:

  • Chairman Trey Gowdy (SC)
  • Jim Sensenbrenner (WI)
  • Steve Chabot (OH)
  • Ted Poe (TX)
  • Jason Chaffetz (UT)
  • John Ratcliffe (TX).

The second push should be on the four other Republicans on the Judiciary Committee who voted to approve the bill last time and have not cosponsored the current one.

These are:

  • Chairman Bob Goodlatte (VA)
  • Tom Marino (PA)
  • Doug Collins (GA)
  • Ken Buck (CO).

Below is an alphabetical list of the cosponsors of the Muslim Brotherhood Terrorist Designation Act bills. If your representative hasn’t taken a stand, now is the time to urge him or her to act.



Abraham, Ralph Lee (R-LA)

Babin, Brian (R-TX)

Barletta, Lou (R-LA)

Benacci, James (R-OH)

Black, Diane (R-TN)

Brady, Kevin (R-TX)

Brat, Dave (R-VA)

Cheney, Liz (R-WY)

Cramer, Kevin (R-ND)

Davidson, Warren (R-OH)

Dent, Charles (R-PA)

DeSantis, Ron (R-FL)

DesJerlais, Scott (R-TN)

Diaz-Balart, Mario (R-FL)

Donovan, Daniel (R-NY)

Duncan, Jeff (R-SC)

Farenthold, Blake (R-TX)

Fleishcmann, Chuck (R-TN)

Franks, Trent (R-AZ)

Frelinghuysen, Rodney (R-NJ)

Gaetz, Matt (R-FL)

Garrett, Thomas (R-VA)

Gohmert, Louie (R-TX)

Gosar, Paul (R-AZ)

Granger, Kay (R-TX)

Grothman, Glenn (R-WI)

Harris, Andy (R-MD)

Hice, Jody (R-GA)

Hudson, Richard (R-NC)

Hunter, Duncan (R-CA)

Johnson, Sam (R-TX)

Jordan, Jim (R-OH)

Kelly, Trent (R-MS)

King, Steve (R-IA)

Lamborn, Doug (R-CO)

Lance, Leonard (R-NJ)

Loudermilk, Barry (R-GA)

Marchant, Kenny (R-TX)

McCaul, Michael (R-TX)

Olson, Pete (R-TX)

Palazzo, Steve (R-MS)

Perry, Scott (R-PA)

Posey, Bill (R-FL)

Rohrabacher, Dana (R-CA)

Rokata, Todd (R-IN)

Ros-Lehtinen, Ileana (R-FL)

Ross, Dennis (R-FL)

Rouzer, David (R-NC)

Royce, David (R-OH)

Russell, Steve (R-OK)

Rutherford, John (R-FL)

Scott, Austin (R-GA)

Smith, Lamar (R-TX)

Trott, David (R-MI)

Walberg, Tim (R-MI)

Weber, Randy (R-TX)

Wenstrup, Brad (R-OH)

Williams, Roger (R-TX)

Yoder, Kevin (R-KS)

Yoho, Ted (R-FL)

Zeldin, Lee (R-NY)




Cruz, Ted (R-TX)

Hatch, Orrin (R-UT)

Inhofe, James (R-OK)

Johnson, Ron (R-WI)

Roberts, Pat (R-KS)